COORDINATING SICK AND ANNUAL LEAVE WITH WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

        Section 8-11-145 of the South Carolina Code of Laws provides that an employee may use sick and annual leave in conjunction with Workers’ Compensation benefits according to a formula to be developed by the Budget and Control Board.

        Currently, Workers’ Compensation will pay 66 2/3% of an employee’s average weekly gross pay up to a maximum of $766.05 per week.  The total benefit received during a regular payroll period is less than the average net or take-home pay that an employee would receive if a regular payroll check was issued subject to taxation.

        The purpose of this formula is to allow employees to maintain the level of spendable income that was being received prior to an injury.  This can be accomplished by allowing the employee to use a reduced amount of leave time.

        The table shows a constant amount of $103.03 per pay period for those employees whose salaries fall between $15,080 and $59,999 per year.  This is due to the fact that the difference between Workers’ Compensation benefits and regular net pay remains the same until the maximum Workers’ Compensation is reached.  $766.05 per week is approximately 66 2/3% of a $59,999 annual salary. At this point, the shortfall in spendable income begins to increase.  
 
[bookmark: _GoBack]         The following formula and table were developed to assist agencies in calculating appropriate leave charges that will, when added to the Workers’ Compensation benefits, equate closely to the net pay an employee would receive in a regular pay check if at work.  For those agencies on the South Carolina Enterprise Information System (SCEIS), you can find information at https://uperform.sc.gov/gm/folder-1.11.3877
on how to process an employee’s Leave of Absence under Worker’s Compensation Option 3.

AMOUNT OF LEAVE TO BE CHARGED PER PAY PERIOD

Annual Salary = Hourly Rate                                                                            Gross Amount Paid (See Chart)  = Leave Time
Base Hours (1950 or 2080)                                                                               Hourly Rate Per Pay Period
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	SALARY RANGE
	Pay Period Gross

	$15,080 
	-
	$59,999 
	$103.03
	 
	$78,000 
	-
	$78,999 
	$753.73

	$60,000 
	-
	$60,999 
	$135.10
	 
	$79,000 
	-
	$79,999 
	$792.27

	$61,000 
	-
	$61,999 
	$167.41
	 
	$80,000 
	-
	$80,999 
	$830.76

	$62,000 
	-
	$62,999 
	$199.70
	 
	$81,000 
	-
	$81,999 
	$869.28

	$63,000 
	-
	$63,999 
	$232.15
	 
	$82,000 
	-
	$82,999 
	$907.80

	$64,000 
	-
	$64,999 
	$264.80
	 
	$83,000 
	-
	$83,999 
	$946.30

	$65,000 
	-
	$65,999 
	$297.41
	 
	$84,000 
	-
	$84,999 
	$984.84

	$66,000 
	-
	$66,999 
	$330.17
	 
	$85,000 
	-
	$85,999 
	$1,023.37

	$67,000 
	-
	$67,999 
	$363.16
	 
	$86,000 
	-
	$86,999 
	$1,061.87

	$68,000 
	-
	$68,999 
	$396.10
	 
	$87,000 
	-
	$87,999 
	$1,100.38

	$69,000 
	-
	$69,999 
	$429.19
	 
	$88,000 
	-
	$88,999 
	$1,138.90

	$70,000 
	-
	$70,999 
	$462.51
	 
	$89,000 
	-
	$89,999 
	$1,177.40

	$71,000 
	-
	$71,999 
	$495.78
	 
	$90,000 
	-
	$90,999 
	$1,216.29

	$72,000 
	-
	$72,999 
	$529.21
	 
	$91,000 
	-
	$91,999 
	$1,255.18

	$73,000 
	-
	$73,999 
	$562.87
	 
	$92,000 
	-
	$92,999 
	$1,294.02

	$74,000 
	-
	$74,999 
	$599.89
	 
	$93,000 
	-
	$93,999
	$1,332.92

	$75,000 
	-
	$75,999 
	$638.17
	 
	$94,000 
	-
	$94,999
	$1,371.80

	$76,000 
	-
	$76,999 
	$676.72
	 
	$95,000 
	-
	$95,999 
	$1,405.68

	$77,000 
	-
	$77,999 
	$715.22
	 
	$96,000 
	-
	$96,999 
	$1,441.36



